Sean Marks inducted into New Zealand Basketball Hall of Fame

Former Tall Blacks star Sean Marks was inducted into the Basketball New Zealand Hall of Fame on Friday night.

Marks, who is general manager for the Brooklyn Nets, was not able to attend the Baksetball NZ awards in Wellington, but his father, Gregory Marks, accepted on his behalf.

Marks began his basketball career at Rangitoto College.  

In 1992, he moved to the United States to study and play for the University of California, Berkeley. 

READ MORE: Saints blast Sharks in NBL

He was the first New Zealander to play in the NBA.  In 1998 he was drafted into the NBA by the New York Knicks, but went on to play for the Toronto Raptors. 

Between 1998 until his retirement from playing in 2011, Marks played for the Miami Heat, San Antonio Spurs, Phoenix Suns, New Orleans Hornets and the Portland Trail Blazers. 

He also did a brief stint in Poland playing for Slask Wroclaw between 2000 and 2001. 

Upon retirement from the game, he took up a position in 2012 as director of basketball for the Spurs, and a year later became assistant coach for the team. 

In 2015 he returned to the front office becoming assistant general manager of the Spurs.

Career highlights included playing for the Spurs who won the 2005 NBA Championship. 

The Spurs won the NBA Champs again in 2014 while Marks was assistant coach. 

He played for the Tall Blacks in the 2000 Sydney Olympics and the 2004 Athens Olympics, and was part of the Tall Blacks team that finished fourth at the 2002 FIBA World Championships held in Indianapolis, USA. 

That team went on to be awarded New Zealand's team of the year and overall winners of the Halberg Awards for that year.

The awards recognised excellence and contribution in the 2016 year, plus those who were inducted into the Hall of Fame, and those who received the new pinnacle award, called the Basketball Legend award.

At a glance

Basketball New Zealand Awards Recipients

Cedric Cudby Volunteer Award: Patrick Caudle, Sharon Erwood, Gary Smyth.

Ian Goodwin Services to Officiating: Melanie Horncastle. 

Service to Coaching Award: Tim Dennis.

Carolyn Grey Award (Female Coach of the Year): Lori McDaniel. 

Keith Mair (Male Coach of the Year Award): Daryl Cartwright.

Lance McLoughlin Trophy (Female Junior Player of the Year Award): Charlisse Leger-Walker. 

Ambassadors Trophy (Male Junior Player of the Year Award): Sam Waardenburg.

Female Player of the Year Award: Stella Beck. 

Male Player of the Year Award: Isaac Fotu.

M.V.P: Jillian Harmon.

Association of the Year: Canterbury Basketball Association.

Long Service Award: Graham Legge. 

Murray McMahon Award Notable Contribution to Men's Basketball: Barry Wilson. 

Zena Gay Award - Notable Contribution to Women's Basketball: Ross Williams.

Sir Lance Cross Award - Exceptional Services to Basketball: Ian Mischefski.

Hall of Fame inductees: Frank Baldwin, Graeme Davey, Bruce McCormack, Robin Milligan, Keith Mair, Leonie Patterson, Megan Compain, Sean Marks, Gina Farmer, Judge John Macdonald.

Basketball Legend Award recipients: Zena Bell Gay, Sir Lance Cross, Carolyn Grey, Stan Hill.

 - Stuff