Raila directs NASA MPs to attend county assembly debates on people's assembly

Opposition leader Raila Odinga has directed the Parliamentary wing of the National Resistance Movement of NASA to attend sessions at County Assemblies where the motion on establishment of a People’s Assembly will be going on starting November 9.

Raila, who arrived in the US Wednesday evening, has asked the NRM to attend and stand in solidarity with county assemblies that will be debating the motion.

ALSO READ:Raila: We want interim government for six months

Raila said: “By and large, we are confident that our county assemblies are well-briefed on the Motion following our session with the governors and the MCAs will be equal to the task when the Motion is tabled tomorrow. Still, it is a new territory and we ask our members of the National Assembly and the Senate who have had more time to ventilate on this matter to show up at the counties tomorrow in solidarity and for guidance.”

The Motion was unveiled by NASA co-principals Musalia Mudavadi and Moses Wetangula November 7.

It has since been dispatched to the following counties: Mombasa, Kwale, Kilifi, Lamu, Taita Taveta, Tana River, Nairobi, Homa Bay, Migori, Kisumu, Siaya, Busia, Kakamega, Bungoma, Vihiga, Kitui, Machakos, Makueni and Turkana.

The Motion is designed to pass resolutions on the presidential elections held on 8th August 2017 and 26th October 2017, declaring them all invalid, null and void.

They are expected to discuss formation of a People’s Assembly that will determine affairs of the country and recommend a pathway towards the achievement of the promise, aspirations, objectives and rights and freedoms provided by the Constitution of Kenya 2010.